The ISS club

They trickled in a few at a time, those condemned to spend at least a day in school prison .

Welcome to in-school suspension! As your substitute today, I will direct you to your seat for the day. You are to be quiet and work on the assignments given to you.

“Can I go to the bathroom?”

Not until the  break.

“I don’t have any work. What do I do?”

I will call the office for your work. Until then, copy this paper and definitions.

“Are you going to be our ISS teacher for the year? Where’s Mr. Flippermunk?”

No. I am here for the day.

“I don’t want to sit here. Can I sit with my friend?”

No. Sit in your assigned seat.

“Can I get a drink of water?”

No. Sit down. Everyone be quiet and do your work. Put your feet down, Oliver. Turn around, Heidi.

“I aam turned around woman. I ain’t botherin’ no body.”

Sit down James. Get to work.

[Sounds settle down. Silence for exactly 3 minutes]

“I need help. Can you help me?”

Shh. [motions to come up to the front] Bring your book. Raise your hand next time.

“Ok!” [goes to get book, smack another child’s head]

“Hey you fool (substituted for obscenity), stop messing! I’ll come and beat your head off.”

[giggles]

Be quiet and get back to work.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

On and on it went for a full six hours. The punishment for skipping school, dresscode violations, insubordination, etc., is to put the violators in a room together for a full day with one adult supervising. Yeah, that’s smart.

The assistant principal directed me to make sure they did their work and were quiet. Then he gave me a pitiful look and thanked me profusely. That, of course, was my hint that I’d accepted a “challenging” (education-speak for uncooperative, defiant, disobediant) day. Had I not spent a year in that environment, I would have run screaming after the first half-hour. In fact, most “normal” adults would have done just that.

Instead, I waited out the day patiently, reminded of why middle school is not for me. I think of  The Breakfast Club and how that group of misfits (pretty tame by today’s standards, and no that is not a call for another Generation Y remake of a perfectly decent and eloquent 80’s movie) bonded one Saturday. I get too analytical on school stereotypes and role reversals….oy, that’s for another day.

Middle school. You can almost smell the hormones.

Ineffectual Motivational posters

One thought on “The ISS club

Leave a Reply

