Sweet Potato Fries

I’ve been wanting to make sweet potato fries for awhile now and I finally had the opportunity last night. The initial problem was I didn’t like many of the recipes I found online on Pinterest, so I did what I usually do–spin it the way I want.

ON TO THE RECIPE!

So I washed three sweet potatoes, but since it was only the two of us, I ended using just 1 1/2. I quartered them, and sliced them into fry-like shapes. Perhaps a bit smaller length-wise. Many recipes encourage soaking in water (for crispness, I think), so I soaked them for 30 minutes in coldish water.

Next, I emptied the water and patted them dry, then tossed them in a zippered gallon bag with 2 T of cornstarch until lightly covered. I spread them out on a cookie sheet covered in foil, drizzled them with olive oil, and hand-mixed them to cover well. I sprinkled my seasoning mix (see below) and mixed them again to cover well.

Before popping in the oven, I separated the fries on the pan for even baking. Oven was preheated at 425 degrees F, and the fries baked for about 20 -30 minutes.

TA DA!

Results:  I was pleasantly pleased with how they turned out. However, some of the thicker-cut fries were a bit too mushy in the middle. I think for my next try I will use the mandolin slicer for circle chips.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 medium sweet potatoes, washed/dryed, cut into fry slices
  • 3 c water for soaking
  • towel or paper towel to pat dry
  • 1 1/2 T Olive Oil
  • 1 T brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 T paprika
  • 1/2 tsp chipotle seasoning

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

