Seeking Blessings

I’ve been meaning to write this update for awhile, but honestly I’ve been swamped (in a good way). I was offered a huge opportunity, one that I wasn’t really anticipating. It was one of those small things that reminds me that God totally has my back.

I’m not gonna lie, I used to be like many people in my town who mistakenly thought that only the schools in the more affluent part of town were where the best (meaning academically focused) opportunities were for teaching. If that illusion wasn’t shattered when I actually taught at one (where I encountered teen moms, teens being raised by grandparents, students living in trailers, etc), then the idea was obliterated when I taught at one of the inner city schools (where I found honors students and a decent talented & gifted program).

So in January when I was offered a chance to cover a 6 week maternity leave teaching American Gov, I was overjoyed. It didn’t matter that 10 yrs ago I wouldn’t have blinked before saying “no way” to this rural school. I know better now. I count my blessings now. I was ok with the assignment  ending before spring break, because the principal seemed to like me and wants me to cover another maternity leave in April for an English teacher. More blessings.

Then today, the government teacher asks me to stay on an additional 2 weeks, maybe 3 weeks, ending right about the time the English position begins. My cup overflows.

What I’ve learned: worry does nothing (such a hard lesson to learn!), so get busy doing life.

 

Leave a Reply

