Day 10 Reassurance is mine

I would be so happy that I have made it to day 10, but I feel icky. Didn’t even run today, poor Roxy will have to wait til she stays with my father-in-law to have fun. Here’s the deal–we do it anyway. Whatever it is we are working on–we continue because we know it will end up making us a better person. Overall, I know that having a quiet time is more important than me laying in bed. I still wish I was, though. All I can promise is being relatively straightforward on the task at hand.

Today’s scripture is Isaiah 41:9-10

 I have chosen you and have not rejected you.  So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

There are so many ways this passage is encouraging, but I will focus on the beginning and the end. As one who has rejection issues, this is strangely comforting. God promises to never reject me. It reminds me of Mercy Me’s song Spoken For where it says “hear you say that this one’s mine…”, I just love that idea. No I will not get into a discussion on the elect–that’s a conversation which makes me run for the hills with my fingers in my ears, screaming “La La La! I can’t hear you!”

What’s also encouraging is the end of the passage–God will uphold us. Right now, I need that literally because I want to lay down and give in the ickiness. Ah, but no.

I think of these passages as bookends of a promise God makes to us–Because I have chosen you, I will uphold you. The middle just backs up that covenant with more reassurances–I am with you, I will strengthen you, I will help you.

In the end, it means more to me that it did starting out. My personal translation–“I will not abandon you, I am with you. You cannot do it all. When you are weak, when your strength ends, I will pick you up and give you whatever you need to continue. I will show my power through you, because I have chosen you.” For a control-freak like me, that promise means more than I could ever explain.

Leave a Reply

