Day 8 Running the Race

I am learning to accept disappointment graciously. I can even write that calmly, because my prior behavior was infantile and silly. One day, maybe I’ll even be able to handle disappointment without my spirits falling low. Disappointment is a part of the journey, its just no fun. It reminds of the song “You can’t always get what you want…”--again, it’s part of our selfish human nature to set our sights on something we want. But disappointment also can cause a feeling of defeat, even hopelessness, if one is continuously let down.

Therefore I turn to scripture as my guide, using Hebrews 12: 1-3

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

How am I supposed to treat disappointment? With perseverance.

What holds me back? Wallowing and self-pity, which is sinful and will distract me from what’s important.

How do I fight it? By fixing my eyes on Jesus and His example, the perfect example of following through.

Now what? I get out of my funk and focus not only on the path before me, but also on what God wants for me, namely to bring glory to His name. This, of course, means that I should not be disappointed about things that I want. I should feel that only when I miss an opportunity to witness and love others.

I have such a long way to go.

Leave a Reply

