Day 7 What’s love got to do with it? Everything!

Yesterday, on my way home, I got to thinking about legacy. Specifically in the sense what we are known for. This has been a struggle for me because I adore teaching history–it is my earthly passion (nerd). But that’s exactly it–it’s earthly, not heavenly. All the history will remain here when I’m in heaven.

The conflict we all have is between our heavenly soul and our earthly body–one is  selfless and the other is selfish. The goal is, of course, to rid ourselves of the latter’s control while we’re here.

So what should our legacy be if we are Christians? I’ll turn to Matthew 22: 37-39 where Jesus is asked what the greatest commandment is.

Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.

People, our legacy should be love! If we applied this 24/7, can you imagine how the world would be changed?If we oriented our day around loving our family, our co-workers, our employers, complete strangers?

So on my way home last night, I decided to show my husband love. We’ve read The Five Love Languages, and I know that he receives love when something gets done. Honestly, after a 10 hour day, the last thing I wanted to do was keep going. I wanted to finish reading the paper, or vege on the couch. Instead, I made dinner, folded laundry, and emptied the trash out of my car.

When we read the above verses, Jesus focuses on two objects we should love–God and others. He implies that we love ourselves, but it is not a commandment. What if all of our time was spent loving the first two–how would that look?

Leave a Reply

