Day 2 How my words affect me

I am determined to get this done today.  I know that having a quiet time is important, despite everything else going on. Doesn’t matter that I”m sick right now and would rather hunker down in bed. I feel the need for some determination. I can rest later.

Today’s scripture is Proverbs 16:24

I will speak pleasant words because they are like a honeycomb–sweetness to my soul and health to my bones!

Easier said than done. Not that I can’t do it, I’m not an angry person. Perhaps a little too negative. Definitely sarcastic. But I’m not certain that I would ever be called pleasant.

What causes me to really think is the last part–the idea that the words that come out of our mouths can affect us. It’s easy to understand how our words can affect others, but this is new to me. It makes sense though–what we say is a reflection of what is going on in our minds, and our minds control a lot.

I feel like a scientist–trying this out to see if it will work. So my goal for the rest of the week is to try my darndest to speak kind and pleasant words to all–at work and at home.

Sorry for the lack of spirit today, but I really am sick.

One thought on “Day 2 How my words affect me

  1. How true, our words are such a reflection of who we are, how we feel at the moment, but especially true is what is inside our heart comes out of our mouths! Jesus said our tongues are like a two-edged sword, we must control our tongue every second of every day!

    Thanks for sharing a needed thought today even if you are sick. Hope and pray you feel better quickly!

Leave a Reply

